Date: October 4, 2023

Host: Vertex Environmental Inc.
Time: 1:00 pm ET, 11:00 am MT, 10:00 am PT

Description: Risk assessments (RAs) are commonly used to address environmental impacts, but in some cases can identify that risk management measures (RMMs) are required. This can comprise something as simple as a protective hard or soft cover over impacted soils, but in other cases restrictions on land use may be warranted unless more sophisticated RMMs are implemented. Other RMMs may be required from a legal liability, as opposed to a human health, perspective. In these instances, there are a variety of RMMs that can be implemented at impacted sites to facilitate their transaction, closure, or redevelopment. Some of the more common RMMs that will be discuss in this webinar include: soil vapour intrusion mitigation; permeable reactive barriers (PRBs); and means to address mobile light, non-aqueous phase liquid (LNAPL). Case studies and examples of each of these common RMMs will be presented and discussed to illustrate their effectiveness in satisfying the requirements of RAs and allowing project objectives to be achieved.

The presenters for the webinar are Nathan Lichti and Farouk Abu-Hijleh, from Vertex Environmental Inc. Nathan Lichti is the General Manager at Vertex and has extensive technical experience in the design and implementation of remediation systems. Farouk has extensive experience with in-situ/ex-situ soil, groundwater, and air remediation techniques and technologies including: ISCO, ISCR, in-situ bioremediation, pump and treat systems, multi-phase extraction (MPE) systems, and soil vapour extraction (SVE) systems.

To register for this webinar, click here.